Liverpool Klopp Episode 35 - The Search for Spock





A little slow getting going this weekend. Things weren't looking good for LFC when I turned on NBCSN right when Milner got sent off with the second yellow! Down to 10 men and down 1-0 on the road at Selhurst against the dreaded Crystal Palace.

Can they draw level and snatch something out of a bad situation???

72' Firmino!!!!!!

79' LFC not content to sit back are still pushing even with 10. Benteke is in and gets off a shot but it is saved.

85' Free kick for Palace. It comes to nothing.

87' Almost! Moreno hits post.

88' Toure in for defensive purposes to see out this match hopefully holding onto the one-point.

+4 minutes to go!

90+2' Benteke gets off another shot but it is saved.

90+3' LFC has the ball and will try to run out the clock.

90+4' Benteke in the box is clipped. A PK! Benteke on the spot and its in! 1-2 LFC is now up.

90+6' Palace gets the ball at the half but there is essentially no time. LFC STEALS a victory at Selhurst Park with 10 men on a PK! The scriptwriters have been going crazy this season!

Certainly, there is a lot of discussion about whether the challenge on Benteke was deserving of a PK. Coach Pardew of Palace was furious at the call that cost them the game and the club remains without a win all of 2016. Watching the game at full speed, it did look like some contact. In replay, the contact did not look heavy. So how much contact is too much? UK Guardian Rob Smyth initially wasn't sure but thinks after seeing the replay that the right call was made. Smyth's comments:
That all happened so quickly that I didn’t get to describe the penalty decision. There are approximately 100 per cent of Palace fans who will think it was a dive from Benteke. It’s hard to be absolutely certain. Delaney slid in – a silly decision because Benteke was going nowhere – and may have brushed Benteke’s left foot with his knee or thigh. Andre Marriner didn’t have a great view, but after consulting with the assistant referee he gave it. At first I thought it was a dive, but the second replay suggested he may have clipped him. I can see both sides! Edit: the more you see it, the more it looks like a clear penalty.

Comments